History Biography Geography Science Games

Book Series

The Hunger Games

Back to Books

The Hunger Games Series of kids books by Suzanne Collins tells the story of Katniss Everdeen, a 16 year old girl who lives in North America after a great war. The world is now divided up into 12 districts that are all run by the winner of the war, the Capitol. In order to keep power over the people in the districts, the Capitol holds a contest called the Hunger Games every year. Two children are chosen at random from each district to fight to the death. The winner gets fame and fortune and their family is safe. The losers….well, it's a fight to the death. Katniss little sister Prim gets chosen, but Katniss volunteers to take her place.

***warning: spoilers below***

The first book, Hunger Games, follows Katniss and Peeta, the other kid from district 12, as they prepare and then fight in the Hunger Games. Will they survive? Will Katniss have to kill Peeta who was so kind to her as a child?

In the second book Katniss and Peeta are considered rebels and the Capitol wants to get back at them for how the first book ended. They have to enter the Hunger Games again, this time to fight against past winners. Again, they defy the Capitol setting up the finale in book three.

The third book continues where the second book left off and you find out if Katniss and Peeta can finally survive and get their revenge on the Capitol. A lot happens and the ending may be different that you expect.

Overall Review

These books are full of action and are an enjoyable easy read. Katniss is a great daring and strong female character. There is the subject of death and violence which parents should be aware of and may not be appropriate for young kids. We liked these books and think many middle school age kids will enjoy as well.

Main Characters Books in the Trilogy
Suggested Reading level: Ages 9-14

If you liked Hunger Games, you may also like: Go here to see more on the Hunger Games movie.

Back to Books

More Book Series:

  • 39 Clues
  • Alex Rider
  • Artemis Fowl Series
  • Boxcar Children
  • Chronicles of Narnia
  • Diary of a Wimpy Kid
  • Encyclopedia Brown
  • Guardians of Ga'Hoole
  • Hank Zipzer
  • Harry Potter Series
  • Humphrey Series
  • Hunger Games
  • Lord of the Rings
  • The Magic Tree House
  • The Missing
  • The Mysterious Benedict Society
  • Percy Jackson and the Olympians
  • Princess Diaries
  • Ramona Quimby Series
  • Redwall
  • The Secret Series
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events
  • Shadow Children
  • Swindle Series
  • Warriors

  • Ducksters Footer Gif with Ducks

    About Ducksters Privacy Policy 


    This site is a product of TSI (Technological Solutions, Inc.), Copyright 2024, All Rights Reserved. By using this site you agree to the Terms of Use.