History Biography Geography Science Games

Book Series

Percy Jackson and the Olympians

Back to Books

This series is a great one to recommend to your 10 - 12 year old. Boys especially will love the action and wise cracking humor of the main character, Percy Jackson. The Lightening Thief was made into a movie released in February 2010. It was a hit!


"I Accidentally Vaporize my Pre-algebra Teacher" is the title of the first chapter of The Lighting Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1) by Rick Riordan. The title of that chapter alone made me want to read this book. Percy Jackson is the main character of this 5 books series. Like Harry Potter, Percy is living a relatively normal life when he finds out who he really is and the adventure begins from there. In The Lightning Thief, Percy finds himself the prime suspect in the theft of the Olympic God Zeus' lightning bolt. Percy is a half blood, one parent was human, the other a Greek God. When Percy arrives at Camp Half Blood, he is further shocked to find out that his father is one of the three "major" Greek Gods - Poseidon. Percy also finds out that his longtime friend Grover is more than he appears to be. The book is fast paced with action around every corner, it's sure to keep your Middle School aged boy turning pages.

In the second book, The Sea of Monsters, Percy's once again finds himself on a quest, this time to save the camp where the children of mortals and Gods live called Camp Half Blood. The magic that has been protecting the camp has been poisoned so Percy and friends must find the Golden Fleece and hope that its powers will restore the protection of the camp. There are fun new characters and loads of adventure. The ending makes reading the next title a must.

The Titan's Curse is the third title in the series. Once again Percy is on a mission with his friends this time to rescue two new demi-gods, a brother and sister, who have been identified by Grover. During the battle over these two new gods, a daughter of Athena is taken, and our quest for Book Three is born.

Book four, The Battle of Labyrinth, finds Percy on a quest through a Labyrinth to find the inventor Daedalus. Percy and friends are hoping that Daedalus will help them to defeat Luke and the army he is assembling for Kronos. This book is the most action packed of the series with Gods, demi-gods and even a mortal who can see through the mist joining the adventure. The book does a great job gearing us up for the battle between the Titans and the gods.

The Last Olympian, the final title in the series brings us the conclusions we have been waiting for. The battles lead up to a grand finale, loose ends are tied up, and the heroes finally get the recognition they deserve. It's sad to see this series end, but it was a great journey. Kudos to Rick Riordan!

Books in the Series
Suggested Reading level: Ages 9-13

If you liked the Percy Jackson Series, you may also like:

Back to Books

More Book Series:

  • 39 Clues
  • Alex Rider
  • Artemis Fowl Series
  • Boxcar Children
  • Chronicles of Narnia
  • Diary of a Wimpy Kid
  • Encyclopedia Brown
  • Guardians of Ga'Hoole
  • Hank Zipzer
  • Harry Potter Series
  • Humphrey Series
  • Hunger Games
  • Lord of the Rings
  • The Magic Tree House
  • The Missing
  • The Mysterious Benedict Society
  • Percy Jackson and the Olympians
  • Princess Diaries
  • Ramona Quimby Series
  • Redwall
  • The Secret Series
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events
  • Shadow Children
  • Swindle Series
  • Warriors

  • Ducksters Footer Gif with Ducks

    About Ducksters Privacy Policy 


    This site is a product of TSI (Technological Solutions, Inc.), Copyright 2024, All Rights Reserved. By using this site you agree to the Terms of Use.