History Biography Geography Science Games

Book Series

Shadow Children

Back to Books

The Shadow Children series by Margaret Peterson Haddix is made up of seven books. The story is sure to capture the imagination of many kids and keep them on the edge of their seats for all seven books. It's full of suspense and mystery as well as interesting child characters who learn to fend for themselves and fight for what is right.

About the story

The story is set in a future where food and resources have grown scarce. As a result, the government has enacted strict laws limiting families to two children. Some families, however, take the risk and have more than two children. These children are called shadow children because they must hide and never be seen. They are constantly hunted by the Population Police and there are few people they can fully trust.

In the first book, Among the Hidden, Luke Garner is a third child. Luke has been hiding his entire life and hasn't met anyone outside his immediate family. Then he discovers a shadow child living next door, Jen Talbot. Jen is not only a shadow child but her father is a leader with the Population Police. Luke becomes friends with Jen who wants to fight for third child rights. Luke isn't sure if he should join her group or not.

The series covers many adventures of various hidden children. Luke is the main character in most of the books, but some are told from the perspectives of other kids. The third book, Among the Betrayed, is told from the view of Nina Idi. Nina has to make a tough choice to betray fellow children or to help them escape. The fifth book, Among the Brave, is told from the viewpoint of Trey. Many of the same characters appear throughout the series, though, giving it continuity.

Major Characters in the Shadow Children List of books the Shadow Children Series
Suggested Reading level: Ages 9-13

If you liked the Shadow Children Series, you may also like:

Back to Books

More Book Series:

  • 39 Clues
  • Alex Rider
  • Artemis Fowl Series
  • Boxcar Children
  • Chronicles of Narnia
  • Diary of a Wimpy Kid
  • Encyclopedia Brown
  • Guardians of Ga'Hoole
  • Hank Zipzer
  • Harry Potter Series
  • Humphrey Series
  • Hunger Games
  • Lord of the Rings
  • The Magic Tree House
  • The Missing
  • The Mysterious Benedict Society
  • Percy Jackson and the Olympians
  • Princess Diaries
  • Ramona Quimby Series
  • Redwall
  • The Secret Series
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events
  • Shadow Children
  • Swindle Series
  • Warriors

  • Ducksters Footer Gif with Ducks

    About Ducksters Privacy Policy 


    This site is a product of TSI (Technological Solutions, Inc.), Copyright 2024, All Rights Reserved. By using this site you agree to the Terms of Use.