History Biography Geography Science Games

Early Islamic World

The First Four Caliphs

History for Kids >> Early Islamic World

Who were they?

The Four Caliphs were the first four leaders of Islam that succeeded the Prophet Muhammad. They are sometimes called the "Rightly Guided" Caliphs because each of them learned about Islam directly from Muhammad. They also served as Muhammad's closest friends and advisors during the early years of Islam.

The Rashidun Caliphate

The time period under the leadership of the Four Caliphs is called the Rashidun Caliphate by historians. The Rashidun Caliphate lasted for 30 years from 632 CE to 661 CE. It was followed by the Umayyad Caliphate. The city of Medina served as the first capital of the Caliphate. The capital was later moved to Kufa.

Islamic Empire under Abr Bakr
1. Abu Bakr

The first caliph was Abu Bakr who ruled from 632-634 CE. Abu Bakr was the father-in-law of Muhammad and was an early convert to Islam. He was known as "The Truthful." During his short reign as caliph, Abu Bakr put down rebellions by various Arab tribes after Muhammad died and established the Caliphate as the ruling force in the region.

2. Umar ibn al-Khattab

The second caliph was Umar ibn al-Khattab. He is generally known just as Umar. Umar ruled for 10 years from 634-644 CE. During this time, the Islamic Empire expanded greatly. He took control of the Middle East including conquering the Sassanids of Iraq. He then took control of many surrounding areas including Egypt, Syria, and North Africa. Umar's reign came to an end when he was murdered by a Persian slave.

3. Uthman ibn Affan

The third caliph was Uthman ibn Affan. He was Caliph for 12 years from 644-656 CE. Like the other Four Caliphs, Uthman was a close companion of the Prophet Muhammad. Uthman is most known for having an official version of the Quran established from one originally put together by Abu Bakr. This version was then copied and used as the standard version moving forward. Uthman was killed by rebels in his home in 656 CE.

Facade of the Meshed Ali, Najaf, Iraq
Imam Ali Mosque
U.S. Navy photo by Photographer's Mate
1st Class Arlo K. Abrahamson
4. Ali ibn Abi Talib

The fourth caliph was Ali ibn Abi Talib. Ali was Muhammad's cousin and son-in-law. He was married to Muhammad's youngest daughter Fatimah. He is considered by many to be the first male convert to Islam. Ali ruled from 656-661 CE. Ali was known as a wise leader who wrote many speeches and proverbs. He was assassinated while praying in the Great Mosque of Kufa.

Interesting Facts about the Four Caliphs of the Islamic Empire Activities More on the Early Islamic World:

Timeline and Events
Timeline of the Islamic Empire
First Four Caliphs
Umayyad Caliphate
Abbasid Caliphate
Ottoman Empire

Scholars and Scientists
Ibn Battuta
Suleiman the Magnificent
Daily Life
Trade and Commerce
Science and Technology
Calendar and Festivals

Islamic Spain
Islam in North Africa
Important Cities
Glossary and Terms

Works Cited

History for Kids >> Early Islamic World

Ducksters Footer Gif with Ducks

About Ducksters Privacy Policy 


This site is a product of TSI (Technological Solutions, Inc.), Copyright 2024, All Rights Reserved. By using this site you agree to the Terms of Use.