History Biography Geography Science Games

Early Islamic World

Calendar, Holidays, and Festivals

History for Kids >> Early Islamic World

Islamic Calendar

The Islamic Calendar is different than the Gregorian calendar (the calendar used by the western world). The 12 months in the Islamic calendar are based on the moon and have 29 or 30 days. As a result, the Islamic year has either 354 or 355 days. Because the Islamic calendar has fewer days (typically 11 fewer), Islamic holidays and festivals move each year when compared to the western calendar.


1. Muharram
2. Safar
3. Rabi al-Awwal
4. Rabi al-Thani
5. Jumada al-Awwal
6. Jumada al-Thani
7. Rajab
8. Sha'ban
9. Ramadan
10. Shawwal
11. Dhu al-Qi'dah
12. Dhu al-Hijjah


The first year of the Islamic calendar began in 622 CE when the Prophet Muhammad and his followers migrated from Mecca to Medina. This migration is called the "Hijrah." The Islamic year is then given as AH, which means "after the Hijrah."

Holidays and Festivals

Religious holidays and festivals are important times in the lives of Muslims. There are several days set aside as holidays to celebrate or reflect on certain events in the history of Islam. The two most important festivals are Eid Al-Fitr and Eid Al-Adha. Interesting Facts about the Islamic Calendar, Holidays, and Festivals
Activities More on the Early Islamic World:

Timeline and Events
Timeline of the Islamic Empire
First Four Caliphs
Umayyad Caliphate
Abbasid Caliphate
Ottoman Empire

Scholars and Scientists
Ibn Battuta
Suleiman the Magnificent
Daily Life
Trade and Commerce
Science and Technology
Calendar and Festivals

Islamic Spain
Islam in North Africa
Important Cities
Glossary and Terms

Works Cited

History for Kids >> Early Islamic World

Ducksters Footer Gif with Ducks

About Ducksters Privacy Policy 


This site is a product of TSI (Technological Solutions, Inc.), Copyright 2024, All Rights Reserved. By using this site you agree to the Terms of Use.