Parents and Teachers: Support Ducksters by following us on Ducksters Facebook or Ducksters Twitter.
Ducksters Educational SiteDucksters Educational Site
History Biography Geography Science Games

Kids News

Back to Kids News

October 14, 2011

Rick Riordan releases The Son of Neptune

Much to the delight of many middle school readers (and kids of all ages), author Rick Riordan has released his second book in the Heroes of Olympus series, The Son of Neptune. This book marks the return of the character Percy Jackson from the very popular Percy Jackson and the Olympians series.

Sons of Neptune book cover art

How the Story Begins

In the first book of the series, The Lost Hero, we were given the clue that Percy Jackson was lost and had forgotten who he was. This is where the Son of Neptune begins. Percy is struck with amnesia. He is being chased by the Gorgon sisters and has no idea why. After escaping, he is given a tough choice. He may choose a life of happiness, but lose his memories of his friends, or regain his memory and with it, sorrow and pain. He chooses to regain his memory and ends up at Camp Jupiter, home to the Roman demi-gods.

Back at Camp Jupiter, Percy meets up with some new heroes, Hazel Levesque and Frank Zhang. Hazel is a daughter of Pluto and Frank a son of Mars. Together with Percy Jackson, they embark on a quest to Alaska to find Thanatos and save the world.

The Heroes of Olympus Series

The Heroes of Olympus series tells the story of seven half-blood children of the gods who are tasked to save the world from Gaea and the giants. In this series, Roman gods and mythology are introduced. By the end of the series, the Roman gods must come together with the Greek gods from the Percy Jackson series in order to travel to Ancient Greece and meet their fate at the Doors of Death.

The Lost Hero introduced us to three of the heroes: Leo (son of Hephaestus), Piper (daughter of Aphrodite), and Jason (son of Jupiter). The Son of Neptune introduces three more of the half-bloods. There are five books planned in the series. The third book is called The Mark of Athena and will be out in 2012.

The Son of Neptune was released on October 4, 2011. It quickly shot to number 2 on Amazon's top seller list.

Back to Kids News

About Ducksters Privacy Policy   

Follow us on Ducksters Facebook or Ducksters Twitter

This site is a product of TSI (Technological Solutions, Inc.), Copyright 2018, All Rights Reserved. By using this site you agree to the Terms of Use.