Parents and Teachers: Support Ducksters by following us on Ducksters Facebook or Ducksters Twitter.
Ducksters Educational SiteDucksters Educational Site
History Biography Geography Science Games

Kids News

Back to Kids News

June 14, 2011

Dallas Mavericks Win the 2011 NBA Basketball Championship

The Dallas Mavericks won the NBA championship over the Miami Heat. They won the best-of-seven game series by winning game six and taking the series 4-2. The final score for game six was 105-95. Dirk Nowitzki was named the MVP of the series.

This is the first time the Mavericks have won the NBA championship. They had reached the finals once before in 2006 when they lost to the Miami Heat in 6 games. This year the tables were turned as the Mavs came out on top.

The series was a very exciting series. Many of the games came right down to the last few minutes with one team going ahead and then the other coming back. Jason Terry of the Mavericks came off the bench to spark the Mavs several times including 27 points in the final game. In the last game Nowitzki had been having a rough shooting night, but never lost his confidence and kept shooting. He made several key baskets in the fourth quarter to help win the game.

The Miami Heat were a famous team this year because of their star players. They already one of the best players in basketball with Dwayne Wade, but then added LeBron James and Chris Bosch to their line up. LeBron had left Cleveland to pursue a championship, but it will have to wait at least another year. LeBron James, considered by many to be the most talented player in the world, had a difficult series against the Mavericks. He failed to score more than 2 points in the 4th quarter of several games.

The championship win was sweet for the Mavs two main stars Dirk Nowitski and Jason Terry. They were the only two players left from the team that lost five years ago to the Heat. It was also a great win for 38 year old veteran point guard Jason Kidd, who had been to two finals with other teams, but had never won.

The final story of the season came down to each team's superstar: Dirk Nowitski from the Mavs and LeBron James from the Heat. Each is considered among the top players in the game of basketball, maybe of all time, but neither had won a championship. This year was Dirk's turn and now LeBron will have to work his way back to the finals.

Back to Kids News

About Ducksters Privacy Policy   

Follow us on Ducksters Facebook or Ducksters Twitter

This site is a product of TSI (Technological Solutions, Inc.), Copyright 2018, All Rights Reserved. By using this site you agree to the Terms of Use.

MLA Style Citation